Educated - Tara Westover

Educated

By Tara Westover

  • Release Date: 2018-02-20
  • Genre: Biographies & Memoirs
  • Size: 1.23 MB
Score: 4.5
4.5
From 507 Ratings

Alternative Downloads

Server Link Speed
Mirror [#1] Educated.pdf 24,920 KB/Sec
Mirror [#2] Educated.pdf 24,798 KB/Sec
Mirror [#3] Educated.pdf 43,810 KB/Sec

Description

For readers of The Glass Castle and Wild, a stunning new memoir about family, loss and the struggle for a better future

#1 International Bestseller and Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year

Tara Westover was seventeen when she first set foot in a classroom. Instead of traditional lessons, she grew up learning how to stew herbs into medicine, scavenging in the family scrap yard and helping her family prepare for the apocalypse. She had no birth certificate and no medical records and had never been enrolled in school.

Westover’s mother proved a marvel at concocting folk remedies for many ailments. As Tara developed her own coping mechanisms, little by little, she started to realize that what her family was offering didn’t have to be her only education. Her first day of university was her first day in school—ever—and she would eventually win an esteemed fellowship from Cambridge and graduate with a PhD in intellectual history and political thought.

Reviews

  • Educated

    4
    By joicole
    It is astounding that in this day and age there are people so ignorant of the world at large. Sad that a mother cannot protect her children from the tyranny of her husband.
  • Educated

    5
    By bdonelon
    Hi - best read in a very long time
  • Highly readable and insightful

    5
    By GetNat
    I ended this book so in awe of the author, who’s ability to persevere through both dangerous manual labour and a PHD at Cambridge was inspiring. Most of us take our educations - and the fact that our parents encouraged us to get them -for granted. She had neither but taught herself to think critically . Also she writes beautifully. I would also like to read Tyler’s story, one day. Highly recommended
  • Compelling

    4
    By 7reader
    Sometimes almost too graphic to read, this arresting account depicts the life of a child growing up in a home with a severely mentally ill parent. With gut-wrenching accuracy it depicts the desperate need we have to feel loved by a parent, to rationalize behaviour that is totally irrational, and to keep returning to the abuse in hopes that somehow it will end. Westover realistically details our compulsion to hold on to the tiny moments of goodness from the tragically ill even though, in some cases, this results in violent or lethal abuse. Sadly victims, as in this memoir, spend much of their lives feeling they are the guilty ones. But as Westover describes, they can be supported & healed with help. Bravo for speaking so authentically about a family crippled by mental illness.
  • Education

    5
    By Eliza Amy
    An excellent book that couldn’t be put down. Emotional at so many levels.
  • Never too late to get educated. Loved the book.

    4
    By SoleTerrre
    Very interesting story of the value of education or lack of. Of the evolution of untreated mental illness and the repercussions on a person and the family.
  • Educated

    5
    By Barry from Canada
    Worth the read. Amazing insight into a rare childhood in North America where a young girl with no education until her first day of college, rises from the roughest rural setting to become a Cambridge PhD.
  • Incredible read

    5
    By Esdfree
    This book is excellent. Completely worth reading and passing on to a friend. Highly recommend.
  • Excellent

    5
    By Martinman
    A brilliant story of determination, drive, self discovery, and the toll it took. Tara Westover is a rare, beautiful gem.
  • Educated

    5
    By shelly kapell
    One of the best books I’ve read. Couldn’t put it down.

keyboard_arrow_up